Home is Where the Change Is

You never visit the same place twice

Jay Sizemore
9 min readAug 2, 2021

--

Photo by the author

They say you can’t go home again. Much as I hate cliches, they become cliche for a reason.

I hadn’t been home to Kentucky in over two years, thanks to the pandemic, which had everyone’s ability to travel restricted generally to their own city limits, and for many, their own four walls. As the lockdowns eased, mask mandates lifted, and vaccination rates went up, the prospect of making a trip back home loomed large in my mind.

I yearned to be near my family again, if only for a few days, just to get back in touch with my roots. To feel something other than isolationism and loneliness. To eat something imbued with that tenderness of food prepared by a mother’s loving hand.

When my wife and I made the decision to move over two thousand miles away from our families and everyone we had ever known, going from the heart of the South to the Pacific Northwest, we didn’t really count on a global pandemic completely eliminating even the option of returning home. Something about that being taken away from us made the isolation feel much worse. We truly felt cut off from everyone. For better or worse, we were on our own.

As soon as the vaccines were available, we took them, and we encouraged everyone we knew to do the same. And once travel seemed…

--

--

Jay Sizemore

Provocative truth teller, author of APNEA & Ignore the Dead. Cat dad. Dog dad. Husband. Currently working from Portland, Oregon. Learn more at: Jaysizemore.com.